From Newborn to Infant

20 Mar

My son is 12 weeks old this week! He has graduated from a sleeping-crying-puking-screaming-eating-puking-crying newborn to a sleeping-smiling-crying-smiling-somewhat talking back infant.Time is really flying by. It just seems like yesterday I was unsure when I was having my son because my blood pressure was going through the roof. I’ve been phantom kicks again lately so I don’t think that helps. I heard those are pretty common though. Don’t get me wrong. I loved that I was able to give birth to my son but to be blunt: My pregnancy was too stressful and riddled with complications. My pregnancy was so traumatizing to me I don’t know if I want to get pregnant again.

I just realized my son may possibly start with some solids next month. At our WIC they decrease the amount of formula with rice cereal at 4 months, and then they decrease the amount even more & add rice cereal & baby food. What if my child is not ready by next month to start rice cereal? Maybe I’m paranoid. I look at other babies and they’re milestones then I look at mine. Every baby develops at their own pace, right?  I hope my PPD didn’t hinder his development.

Ahem.

Anyways this is a short blog tonight.  I’ve noticed I’ve got quite a few new viewers reading my blog! Welcome to my lovely corner on the internet. I hope you stick around, at least until tomorrow, because I’ll be posting more freebies on Fabulous Freebie Wednesday! Why don’t you check out last week’s list?

I leave you tonight with Penguins.  Seriously. Penguins.

7 Responses to “From Newborn to Infant”

  1. Shella March 21, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    OMG PENGUINS!

  2. LovingMyMommyLife March 21, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    awesome post. This time does fly by quick! My little one is approaching 2!!! YIKES!!! Enjoy every happy and frustrating minute! don’t get too stressed on the food thing. We started our girl in oatmeal/rice cereal around the age of your son and she woould puke it up everytime we fed it to her. So we went straight to jarred food. Started with the veggies first, to ensure she built up the “liking” for them…which has now gone out the window…LOL. Also, think about making your own food…it’s a lot more cost effective if you happen to not get enough support. Not sure if you have already or not, but sign up for emails from the baby food companies, they are always sending out coupons and such. not sure how WIC works, if its like food assistance. Just a thought. I hope it helped or I gave some good advice.

    Hang in there and just make the most out of being a mom! It’s a wonderful journey full of ups and downs. Great blog!!! And yes….Penguins!!! LOL

    • Desiree March 21, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      I’d love to have a Baby Bullet but with how tight things are I don’t think I’ll be getting one any time soon. Did your girl show signs of wanting more than solids? What were they? I find that interesting she ended up taking to pureed food better than the rice cereal. You would think since the rice cereal is simpler it wouldn’t cause problems.

      I wasn’t quite sure which companies I should sign up for baby food other than Gerber but maybe that’s because I’m still new to this this mommy thing.

      WIC gives you checks based on your baby’s age, weight, and height if you qualify for it. They help with formula fed and breast fed babies When I was pregnant I was on WIC and they gave me milk, cheese, fruits & veggies, and grains to help ensure a good diet.

      You gave excellent advice by the way! Thanks for commenting. For some reason I can’t get people to comment much on my blog. I’m lucky if I get one person! 🙂

      • LovingMyMommyLife March 22, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

        If you have a simple food processor or blender that works just fine, thats how we did it….we didn’t have a baby bullet at all. Just cook the veggies before hand and puree! =) And for the fruit, just take em and stright puree them…that’s it!! It was funny, when we were about two months or so into giving her the baby food, she showed BIG interest in meat. So we let her try some, LITTLE bits of chicken first, then she one day grabbed a rib bone out of my hand, while sitting at the table with us and started cowing on it!! She didn’t really eat the meat, just chewed. But there are also these “teething” biscuit, cracker things called Baby MUM MUM, you can find those where all the baby snacks are, and our girl LOVED them! Also letting them gnaw and chew on berries and bananas are awesome.

        As for the baby food, Gerber is the cheapest and has most variety. We got great coupons from Beach Nut, out girl liked their foods the best and they give out great savings viz their web site/email. There are soooooo many companies out there, my best advice would be to go to your local store and write all the names down and then look the up on the web and see if some, if not all, have email subscriptions.

        For the blog comments…..have you listed your blog on some listing sites such as Top Mommy Blogs or Bloggy Moms? I did that and my traffic increased significantly!!! Comments are sparatic, sometimes Ill get a bunch and then none at all!! =)

      • Desiree March 22, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

        Thanks for the advice! I don’t have a food processor at the moment either. 😦 I’ll check out those companies and hopefully get some coupons started.

        I want to sign up for Top Mommy Blogs but they ask that every blog submitted be at least 3 months old. I’m only one month old.

      • LovingMyMommyLife March 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

        Yeah, they do require that….try Bloggy Moms, I have a button on my page for it….it’s more interactive, kinda like a social network kind of feel as well….made lots of connections! =)

Leave a Reply

