Cakes by Nessa

23 Mar

I am so excited. My stepson’s cake for his birthday party on Saturday is done. I have been waiting for this cake for over a month. The Pickle wanted a Lego Star Wars themed cake.  His mother wanted to pick a cake out of a book from Wal*Mart, but I wanted to go a step further. I have a friend who creates absolutely amazing cakes. Her name is Vanessa & she is the owner of Cakes by Nessa.  I have known her since high school. I have been a fan of hers since she made my husband’s World of Warcraft cake last year. After some convincing I was able to get The Pickle’s mother to agree to let my friend make his cake. He wanted a Lego Star Wars themed birthday party. You guys have to check this out:

Lego Star Wars Cake. The topper is an actual lego set. The stars and text were painted with edible dust.

Isn’t it cute? Lego Star Wars is all the rage right now with little boys. The cake is covered & decorated with fondant. It 3 layers of cake & serves 40. Vanessa and I looked for the candy blox to put around the cake but we could not find them locally. I’m going to have a very happy 7 year old on Saturday. Reavera was surprised at how nice the cake is. If anyone is interested I will be taking pictures of The Pickle’s birthday party and including them in Sunday’s blog.

Vanessa’s work does not stop there. Let’s take a look at some of the other cakes she has created. She gave me permission to post these photos on my blog.

Everything on this cake is edible.

Not only is everything on this treasure chest cake edible, but look at all the detail. This is one of my favorite cakes. I love how the chocolate gold pieces sit perfectly without looking like they were placed there for a reason.

Princess Castle Cake

This is another one of my favorites mainly because I like all things girly and this princess castle cake screams girly. Again, everything is edible on this fondant cake.

Toy Story Cake

I’m not 100% sure Buzz Light Year, Woody, and Rex are edible but the rest of the cake is. It takes a lot of work to make sheet look like a sheet on a bed with cake. I can’t get enough of the hand painted text.

My husband's birthday cake last year. He was completely surprised.

As the caption stated this is my husband’s birthday cake. This is the first cake I order from my friend Vanessa. At the time I was unaware she even made cakes. A friend of mine who is also friend of hers happened to refer me to Vanessa.  After being completely blown away with this cake I wanted to order Reavera a cake this year. We were not in a good place financially at the time, however, so the cake will wait until next year. Have I mentioned yet that Vanessa does not have formal training in cake decorating? Can you say talented? I knew you could.

Care Bears Cake

This is another one of my absolute favorites. Anyone else remember growing up watching the Care Bears or collecting Care Bear dolls? I would be one happy momma if I received a cake like this for my birthday (Not like I’m hinting or anything like that.). Everything about this cake is perfect to me.

Penguins!

I’ve been obsessed with penguins as of late, and this Happy Feet cake Vanessa made is not helping. The water and snow on the top of this cake is very realistic.

Angry Birds

Anyone who’s been on the internet the last three years is very well aware of the hit game Angry Birds. If you haven’t heard it – you have either been hiding under a rock or you have been oblivious. It is one of the most addicting games to play on your smartphone or tablet.   If you haven’t had a chance to play it the game is available on Facebook now. I’m stuck on Level 62 Poached Eggs which happens to use quite a few of the black birds. Vanessa got the black bird’s expression spot-on on this fondant cake.

Spider Man Spider Man does whatever a Spider Man does. Wait, what?

This was one of Vanessa’s first cakes, and one of the cakes that was a deciding factor for me to utilize her cake decorating services. A cake perfect for any child, Vanessa shows detailed piping work in this Spider Man cake.

Wedding Cake

Vanessa creates wedding cakes as well. This is only her second wedding cake but it is my favorite so far. For someone with no cake decorating training I am amazed at her detail in her piping. Her skill outshines many cakes I have seen in grocery stores.

Vanessa has crazy mad talent in cake decorating, and I can really see her business going even farther in the future. She makes all of her cakes at home, and is the mom of an adorable little girl. If anyone is interested in ordering a cake from her she resides in the Southeast Kansas area. Vanessa will pretty much make any cake you want her to. The cakes I am showing you tonight are only a small sampling of what she’s done. You can view her full work by going to her Facebook. She also takes orders on her Facebook as well. I hope she opens up a business website for Cakes by Nessa soon. When I look at her cakes I think of happiness. She puts in 200% dedication into all of her work. You will not be disappointed when you order a cake from her. Her prices vary depending on what type of you cake you want and the size. She will quote you a price before she begins working on the cake.

So what are you waiting for? Go check out her Facebook. I’m going to ask a personal favor from all of you. I’d love to see her get past 65 followers on Facebook. Let’s all work together to give her 100 followers. Are you up for the challenge?

Disclaimer: I did not receive any compensation for this review. I wrote this review because I love Vanessa’s cakes and want to show her cakes off to the world.  All statements in this review are my honest opinion. 

2 Responses to “Cakes by Nessa”

  1. thriftymommagogo March 25, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Hi there. I am choosing your blog to comment on today. I love these cakes. Yummy. On the treadmill right
    Now salivating. I will check the vlog out later. We vlog here too. Ever do Monday mingle? It is hosted by eighty mph mom. Com weekly.

    Cheers and have a safe happy week.

    Paula
    Thriftymommastips
    @inkscrblr

  2. thriftymommagogo March 25, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Hi there. Just popping by to leave some comment love. These cakes look great.

    Paula
    Thriftymommastips
    @inkscrblr

Leave a comment